How easy it is to make excuses – eating too much of everything, not giving 100% all the time with your health and fitness

Image credit: iqoncept / 123RF Stock Photo
Image credit: iqoncept / 123RF Stock Photo

If I were an actor required to put on weight for a role I reckon I could put on ten kilograms in ten days and win the part.  It doesn’t help that my Mum is visiting and making scones, jam and cream.  That combined with a general lack of enthusiasm for my health routine means that the treadmill and I are ‘taking a break’ from our relationship.

It is no secret that weight loss and improved health overall takes commitment, 100% on every day at every workout.  It’s OK at first when you’re fresh and excited at the prospect of a new you, but now three months in with just five kilograms to go to my goal weight, my weight has plateaued and I am bored.

I know from past experience I have a window of slackness of just two weeks before I completely unravel and go back to my old habits of eating too much and exercising haphazardly.  I am half way through this timeframe and I am scared.  Scared of reaching my goal and scared of going back to the old me, which I know is just lurking under the surface waiting to sing ‘na-na-na-na-na-nah!’

I know that no amount of inspiration is going to help me right now.  What I need is to sleep in my workout gear, get up in the morning and just make up with the treadmill.  I know this, but I just don’t care enough, I’m tired, lacking energy and have been sick.  I know this is not a mindset conducive to putting me first and carving out my time to get healthy.  The annoying part is knowing this and still not being motivated enough to make the effort.  I know that it will make me feel better to exercise but I keep finding reasons and excuses where there aren’t any and putting them in my way.

I hope the treadmill forgives me and we can start over.

2 thoughts on “How easy it is to make excuses – eating too much of everything, not giving 100% all the time with your health and fitness

Go on . . . you know you want to say something . . .

