Death to the slogan shirt!

Source: Google images

I want slogan shirts obliterated from the fashion landscape.

They have always made me uncomfortable in a way that I cannot understand.  I actually feel embarrassed for the wearer.  When I went to high school in the 90s Espirit and Sportsgirl slogan shirts had just been replaced by JAG and Hypercolour.  These were essentially large t-shirts with the brand name on the front, that’s it, nothing special.  What was special was a shirt that announced to the world in the most graphic fashion that you were sweating.  I wanted one.  I got one.   I wore it proudly blending in with everyone else.  But these were just shirts advertising brand names, plus I was a teenager and knew no better.

But what do you think about shirts with cringe-worthy sayings?  What about such gems for women as:

 “I’ve lost my number, can I have yours?”

“Toughen up Princess”

And the startling:

“I only have sex on days ending with day . . .” you know the rest.

However, the phenomenon is not gender specific.  I can remember going to barbecues as a child during the days of the iron on transfer t-shirts (from Mr T-shirt shops), you know the ones which were all glittery and hot to wear.  I remember seeing men at these gatherings wearing shirts that said “sex is like snow, you never know how many inches you will get or how long it will last”.  I could read the words but didn’t understand it.  I just knew it was something for adults, which made me all the more curious as to why whatever they were saying had to be broadcast on a t-shirt.

I would like to think that the time of the slogan shirt passes when reaching a ‘certain age’, yet it is a fashion crime that persists through the generations.  Like swishy MC Hammer pants, fluoro anything and denim mini-skirts they refuse to die!

What fashion crimes do you want gone?  Or, is there something comforting in the fact that someone will always wear something more embarrassing than you?

One thought on “Death to the slogan shirt!

Go on . . . you know you want to say something . . .

